Australian Open 2017 - First Tennis Grand Slam of the Year

The Australian Open is the first grand slam of the season and continues to grow in popularity each year - read on below for a comprehensive guide on everything you need to know about one of the biggest tennis tournaments in history.

centre court at Melbourne Park for the Australian Open 2017
A general view of Rod Laver Arena, the centre court at Melbourne Park for the Australian Open

Widely regarded as the ‘Happy Slam’ due to its vibrant and feel-good nature, the Australian Open is held in the energetic city of Melbourne every year, usually during the final fortnight of January. Just about every legend in tennis has captured the prestigious Norman Brookes Challenge Cup (men) or Daphne Akhurst Memorial Trophy (women), with the Australian Open remaining a source of global attraction for tennis fans all over the world - along with the three other grand slams, Roland Garros, Wimbledon and the US Open.

Magical tennis and everlasting memories is guaranteed every year when leading male and female players converge in Melbourne for one of tennis’s ultimate prizes. Keep scrolling for a complete wrap on the Australian Open, including history, records, former champions and so much more!

Also Read:

Share this

Related Posts

Next Post »